Anthropology Undergraduate Summer Scholarship

In 2019, the department received a generous gift from the Foundation for the Advancement of Anthropology and History (FAAH) to support summer research and training projects. Several awards are available, each valued between $750-$1000 to begin June 15, 2020.

Eligibility: Second- and third-year anthropology majors in the College (inclusive of those pursuing a double major).

Intent: Support independent research and training for undergraduates seeking to develop honor's thesis projects with interests in anthropology and archaeology.

Application Instructions: Send a single email to the Director of Undergraduate Studies, Prof. Stephan Palmié (, with the following attachments:

1.    A one-page single-spaced proposal outlining the project and proposed budget (e.g., technology (hardware/software), Wi-Fi access, etc.)

2.    University of Chicago transcript

3.    Résumé that includes contact information (e.g., e-mail address) for two academic references (one within the department who will serve as faculty advisor for the project)

Before commencing research, awardees must schedule a meeting with the DUS to ensure their proposed research complies with the guidelines stipulated by the Social and Behavioral Sciences IRB and the current restrictions on human subject research.

Reporting Requirement: At the end of the summer, FAAH awardees will submit a one-page summary report documenting their scholarship experience. Please send these to the DUS by October 1, 2020.


Undergraduate Grant and Fellowship Awards

Foundation for Advancement of Anthropology and History (FAAH), Summer Research Grants, 2020

Balderas, Emilio

Space-Time, Race-Time: System Impacted Theories of Time (Faculty Sponsor: Brotherton)

Burton, Miles

Occupying a Nation in Defeat: General Whitney's Airway & A Jeep Over Bumpy Roads (Faculty Sponsor:  Gal & Kelly)

Cooper, Jordan

Contemporary Indigenous Activists in Bolivia. The State & Colonialism (Faculty Sponsor: Jobson)

Gonzales, Adriana

Black Geographies in Borikén (Puerto Rico) and the Caribbean (Faculty Sponsor: Jobson)

Morgan, Hunter

Rails of Change: The Eco-Aesthetics of Economic Transformation in Chicago's Millennium Park (Faculty Sponsor: Gal)

Solorio, Camrick

MOGRA's Transnational Music Communities in Tokyo, Japan (Faculty Sponsor: Fisch)

Standa, Jacob

A Genealogical Critique of Geertzian Approaches to the Study of 'Javanese Religion' (Faculty Sponsor: Palmié)

Tan, Samuel

Professionalizing the Hustle Among Entrepreneurial Singaporean Youth (Faculty Sponsor: Nakassis)

Beinecke Scholarship, Adriana G. Gonzales, UC ‘21 

Pozen Center for Human Rights Dr. Aizik Wolf Post-Baccalaureate Fellowship, Michelle Mu Yang, UC ‘20

IIE Fulbright US Student Program, Andres Cruz Leland, UC ‘20

Pozen Center Human Rights BA Fellow, Emilio Eduardo Balderas, UC ‘21

Undergraduate Prizes

The Department annually awards two prizes for the best undergraduate honor's thesis papers in sociocultural/linguistic and archaeological/physical anthropology.


(Social Cultural/Linguistic Anthropology)

2020 Sophia Fisher

"Caring for the Hyperobject: Climate Change and Confusion Among University of Chicago Undergraduates" 

2019 Elena Peterman  

“Managing the Biocultural: Nature, Knowledge, and Governance in the Oaxacan Forestry Sector”


2019 Kathryn Yin

“Becoming Tree: Toward a Transductive Politics of Virtual Reality”


(Archaeology/Physical Anthropology)

2020 Iris Jacobs

"Taking the Skeletons Out of the Closet: Contested Authority and Human Remains Displays in the Anthroplogy Museum"  

2019 Henry Bacha

“Resistance through Re-Articulation: The Extirpation of Idolatries Campaigns and the Rise of the Cult of the Saints in Cusco, Peru”

Anthropology Undergraduate Research Symposium

At the end of each academic year the department hosts a symposium where graduating seniors with a major in Anthropology (double majors and BA/MAPSS students included) can present their research in a professional setting and gain conference experience. The event is open to the entire university community and is followed by a department celebration attended by faculty, majors, and graduate students.