Recent Job Placements (2016)


Start date Autumn 2016 unless otherwise noted

Lee Elizabeth Cabatingan
S/C-Legal, British Caribbean & Cuba
Committee: Stephan Palmie*, Justin Richland, Susan Gal,
John Comaroff
Assistant Professor, Law and Society (Tenure Track),
University of California at Irvine

Kerry Ryan Chance
S/C, South Africa
Committee: Jean & John Comaroff**, Judith Farquhar, Susan Gal
Assistant Professor of Anthropology (Tenure Track),
Louisiana State University

Hannah Rachel Chazin
Archaeology, Armenia
Committee: Adam T. Smith*/Alan Kolata*, Michael Dietler,
Nerissa Russell
Postdoctoral Fellow in Archaeological Science,
Stanford Archaeology Center (1-3 yrs)

Nitya Deepa Das Acevedo
S/C-Religion, India
Committee: John Comaroff*, John Kelly, William Mazzarella, 
Justin Richland
Sharswood Fellow, University of Pennsylvania Law School

Denene Anne-Marguerite DeQuintal
S/C, Native North America
Committee: Raymond Fogelson*, Joseph Masco, Jessica Cattelino,
Tiya Miles (U.Mich), A. Terry Straus
Mellon Postdoctoral Curatorial Fellowship in American Indian Art,
Denver Art Museum, 2-3 Yrs.

Yazan Haitham Bishara  Doughan 
S/C-Linguistic, Middle East/Jordan
Committee: Susan Gal*, Michael Silverstein, Hussein Agrama,
Lisa Wedeen
Fellow, German Institute of Global and Area Studies-Hamburg

Elizabeth Gaines Anderson Fagan (Jt. w/ History)
Archaeology, Armenia
Committee: Adam T Smith*/Jonathan Hall*, Alain Bresson,
Michael Dietler
Asstant Director – Chicago Center for Teaching,
niversity of Chicago

Mark Anthony Geraghty
S/C, Africa/Rwanda
Committee: Jean Comaroff*/Joseph Masco*, John Comaroff,
Francois Richard, Constantine Nakassis
Postdoctoral Fellow, Mahindra Humanities Center,
Harvard University, 2016-17

Alan Frederick Greene
Archaeology, Armenia
Committee: Adam Smith*, Michael Dietler, Shannon Dawdy,
R. Badalyan
Postdoctoral Fellow,  NYU Institute for the Study of the
Ancient World, 2016-17

Elina Inkeri Hartikainen
S/C-Linguistic; Latin America/Brazil
Committee: Michael Silverstein*, Susan Gal, Stephan Palmie,
Dain Broges
Research Postdoctoral Fellow, Helsinki University
Collegium for Advanced Studies, 2016-2019

Eric Michael Hirsch
S/C, Latin America/Peru
Committee: Justin Richland*, William Mazzarella, Alan Kolata, Kaushik Sunder Rajan, Jean Comaroff
Postdoctoral Fellow,  McGill University, Institute for the Study of International Development, 2016-18.

Anna Jabloner
Committee: Joseph Masco*, Jean Comaroff, Charis Thompson
Postdoctoral Fellowship, Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics. 1/1/16 start.

Kiho KIM
S/C, East Asia/China
Committee:  Judith Farquhar*, Julie Chu, Jacob Eyferth
Assistant Professor, Global Leadership Program, Graduate School
of International Studies, Yonsei University, Seoul

Chelsey Lousie Kivland
S/C, Caribbean/Haiti
Committee: Stephan Palmie*/Jean Comaroff*, Judith Farquhar,
Greg Beckett
Assistant Professor of Anthropology (Tenure Track)
Dartmouth College

Steven Brian Kosiba
Archaeology, Peru
Committee: Alan Kolata*/Adam Smith*, Michael Dietler,
Kathleen Morrison, Brian Bauer
Assistant Professor of Anthropology/Archaeology (Tenure Track),
University of Minnesota

Zhiying Ma  (Jt w/ Human Development)
S/C-Medical; East Asia/China
Committee: Judith Farquhar*/Eugene Raikhel*, Susan Gal,
Don Kulick
Postdoctoral Fellow, Michigan Society of Fellows (2016-18)
after which she starts as Assistant Professor, School of Social
Service Administration, University of Chicago, 2018--

Simon James May
S/C,  Fiji/Great Britain
Committee: John Kelly*/John Comaroff*, Joseph Masco,
Martha Kaplan
Visiting Assistant Professor of Anthropology,
Bowdoin College, 2016-17

Kathryn Elizabeth McHarry
S/C-Medical; Africa/Senegal
Committee: Judith Farquhar*, Jean Comaroff, François Richard
Visiting, Yale-National University of Singapore, 2016-17

Francis Alan McKay  (Jt. w/ CHSS)
S/C-Medical, US
Committee: Judith Farquhar*/Robert Richards*, Joseph Masco,
Eugene Raikhel
Johnson Instructor, Master of Arts Program in the Social Sciences,
University of  Chicago, 2016-18

Sarah Brohard Muir
S/C; Argentina
Committee: John Comaroff*/Beth Povinelli*, Susan Gal,
Claudio Lomnitz, Joseph Masco
Doctoral Lecturer in International Studies and Anthropology
(Tenure Track), CUNY

Tracey Alexandra Rosen
S/C; Greece
Committee: John Kelly*, Jean Comaroff, Judith Farquhar,
Susan Gal, Michael Herzfeld
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Seeger Center for Hellenic Studies,
Princeton University 2016-17

Jonah S. Rubin
S/C; Spain
Committee: Jean Comaroff*/Hussein Agrama*, Jennifer Cole,
Stephan Palmié, James Fernandez
Visiting Assistant Professor of Anthropology, Bard College, 2016-17

Paul Ryer
S/C; Caribbean/Cuba
Committee:  Marshall Sahlins*, Jean Comaroff, Andrew Apter
[Rolph Trouillot]
Director of Scholar Programs, School of Advanced Research,
Santa Fe

Jesse Shipley
S/C, Africa-Ghana
Committee: Jean Comaroff*, John L.Comaroff, Andrew Apter,
Elizabeth Povinelli
Full Professor, African and African American,
Dartmouth College

Joseph Jay Sosa
S/C; Latin America/Brazil
Committee: William Mazzarella*, Judith Farquhar, Joseph Masco,
Dain Borges
Assistant Professor, Gender, Sexuality, & Women’s Studies
(Tenure Track), Bowdoin College

LaShandra Patrice Sullivan
S/C; Latin America/Brazil
Committee: John Comaroff*, Joseph Masco*, Jean Comaroff,
Dain Borges
Assistant Professor of Anthropology (Tenure Track),
Reed College

Christien Philmarc Tompkins
S/C-Education; US
Committee: Joseph Masco*, Shannon Dawdy,
Kaushik Sunder Rajan
Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Fellow, UCLA (2016-18)
[Declined C3-Mellon Postdoctoral Fellowship, Anthropology,
Williams College, 2 years]

Anna Maria Weichselbraun 
S/C-STS; Europe/IAEA
Committee: Joseph Masco*, Susan Gal, Justin Richland, Summerson Carr
MacArthur Nuclear Security Postdoctoral Fellow,
Center for International Security & Cooperation,
Stanford, 2016-17; declined a similar offer at the Harvard/
JFK School Belfer Center)

Joseph Julian Ziems Weiss
S/C; Native North America
Committee: Justin Richland*/Raymond Fogelson*, Joseph Masco,
Jean Comaroff
Curator of Western Ethnology, Canadian Museum of History,
9/16 start.

Brian Christopher Wilson
Archaeology; South Asia/Goa
Committee:  Kathleen Morrison*, François Richard, Mark Lycett,
Shannon Dawdy
Associate Director, Alumni Relations & Development,
Volunteer Relations, University of Chicago. 

Lauren Wynne
S/C; Latin America/Mexico
Committee: Judith Farquhar*, Joseph Masco, John Lucy
Assistant Professor, Anthropology/Sociology, Ursinus College


Jobs and Post-Doctoral Positions already held by 2015-16 PhDs

Zachary Chase
Archaeology/History, Latin America-Andes
Committee: Alan Kolata*/Dain Borges*, Shannon Dawdy,
Adam Smith
Visiting Assistant Professor of Anthropology (with promise of
Tenure Track), Brigham Young University.  (Jan 2015 start)

Lauren Coyle
S/C, Africa-Ghana
Committee: John Comaroff*/Jean Comaroff*/Francois Richard*,
Ralph Austen
Assistant Professor of Anthropology (Tenure Track),
Princeton University, Aut16 start
Fellow, Princeton Institute for International & Regional Studies (PIIRS) '15-16

Gregory Duff Morton
S/C, Latin America-Brazil, Joint PhD with Social Service Administration
Committee: JeComaroff*/ Summerson Carr*, Julie Chu,
Dain Borges, William Sites
Postdoctoral Fellow, Watson Institute for International Studies,
Brown University, 2015-17
(Declined the Michigan Society of Fellows)